Who’s a runner

I posted the following on my tumblr page and it was a little controversial. I either follow some of the wrong folks on all my social media accounts. I just feel like lately people have been saying / posting Boston or nothing. I merit my runs based on many factors, least of all those factors is my time. I run because I love to. Life is so much better when I run.

“I used to think that the only way you were a true marathon runner is if you qualified for Boston. After my running adventures last weekend I’m re-thinking that idea.

I’m a marathon runner because I run marathons.

I’m runner because I run.

I have fully decided that I want to be an ultra runner who sometimes runs marathons now. I just love to run and run. For me, it’s not about how fast but about how far I can run at once.

What say you, are you only a marathon runner if you qualify for Boston?”

2 thoughts on “Who’s a runner

  1. Amen! I run because I love it. It has nothing to do with Boston. I hate seeing heartbroken runners because they didn’t qualify. And I hate seeing runners judge other runners because they chose the charity option.

    Like

    1. I feel like running has turned into how fast your pace is and what all your splits are. When I stopped worrying about how fast I’m running I really started to enjoy what running is for me. I’m never disappointed in a single run that I do now even if it is slower. It’s about how far I’ve come now how fast it took me to get there.

      Like

Leave a comment